logo

Getting a Library Card is Easy!

ELIGIBILITY | To receive a free library card, you must be 18 years of age or older, live in the state of Utah, and be able to provide photo ID and proof of current mailing address at the time you pick up your card. Children over age 5 are eligible to receive cards as well, but must have a parent or legal guardian present at the time the card is issued.


  • VISITORS

    Visitors from out-of-state may be eligible for limited, temporary borrowing privileges for a $5.00 non-refundable fee. Valid photo ID from home state is required.
  • ONLINE REGISTRATION

    If you want to place items on hold but do not have a library card yet, fill out this form to obtain a temporary library barcode. When you come to pick up your held items, bring in photo ID and proof of current mailing address to be issued a library card.
  • FORGOT YOUR CARD?

    If you don’t have your card at check out, photo ID may be used instead.
  • KEEP US UPDATED

    Help us keep your information up to date by reporting lost or stolen cards and changes in mailing address, phone number and email address.
  • CIRCULATION POLICY

    Goal The intent of this policy is to set rules which provide fair and equal access to books and other library materials.

    The Library Board of Trustees delegates to the staff the authority to establish procedures and implement technology which supports this goal.

    Library Cards

    Adults eighteen years of age or older with photo identification and proof of current address are eligible.

    Minors under eighteen years of age must have the approval of their parent/legal guardian in the library at the time card is issued.

    Adults are responsible for all charges to their account and their children’s account.

    A valid library card or photo identification which confirms the account must be presented at checkout.

    The library offers free borrowing privileges to all Utah residents.

    Visitors from out-of-state may be eligible for a temporary card, with which they may have 10 items checked out. This includes a maximum of 3 DVD's 3 Music CDs, and 3 CD Books.

    Lost or stolen cards and changes in residence, email address, or telephone number should be reported as soon as possible to ensure prompt and accurate notification.

    Loan Period

    DVDs may be borrowed for seven (7) days. Children under 18 years of age may check out DVDs with parent's/legal guardian's permission.

    All other materials may be borrowed for four weeks (28 days).

    Library materials may be renewed twice unless a hold is pending.

    Patrons are encouraged to place a hold on materials that are currently checked out.

    Patrons are also encouraged to request new items which the library does not own, in accordance with our patron request policy.

    Check Out Limits

    Patrons may have 50 items checked out at a time. This includes a maximum of 10 DVDs, 10 Music CDs, and 10 CD Books.

    New patrons will have a one month probationary period in which they may have 10 items checked out. This includes a maximum of 3 DVDs, 3 Music CDs, and 3 CD Books.

    Fines and Fees

    The overdue fine rate for DVDs and non-juvenile CD Books is one dollar ($1.00) per day per item. The maximum fine is $10.00 per item.

    The overdue fine rate for all other materials is fifteen cents ($.15) per day per item. The maximum fine is $5.00 per item.

    Borrowing privileges are suspended when fines exceed ten dollars ($10.00).

    While every effort is made to notify patrons of overdue items, patrons are responsible for the return of items, regardless of overdue notification by the library.

    The replacement cost for a lost card is one dollar ($1.00).

    The fee for checks returned due to insufficient funds is twenty dollars ($20.00).

    The replacement cost for lost or damaged materials is the library replacement price plus a five dollar ($5.00) processing fee.

    Patrons who fail to return materials or disregard overdue or billing notices will be referred to a collection agency, at which time a ten dollar ($10.00) recovery cost fee will be assessed.